The Drifter

I am floating, drifting in the sea of the void as the waves gently touched my skin. I can feel its curiosity; as if it’s tasting my soul little by little as the little surges of waves swayed my body back and forth as I drift away from an island called sanity.

I looked at the orange sky as the sun goes down, extending my reach towards the unreachable sky. The clouds are moving, travelling, going to distant places where no one can reach them. Can you see them too? Do we see the same orange, afternoon sky? The scenery we used to share as we put an end to a stressful day. Can you still see it?

So close yet so far. I moved my arms, matching it with the ebb and flow of the water. I feel it, the distant memories, the broken dreams and the beautiful stories. Stories woven from events of distant past, stories where we were together, stories that are now spread, floating across the ocean, trying to find their own place in due time and place.

I would like to think that there’s a future where our waves will bring us together again. Just like that distant memory of our first meeting, where the waves of fate brought us together at the exact same spot and exact same time, both with no knowledge of what was to come; the greatest love story ever written by pure, innocent and hopeful human souls,

I am drifting, not sure where to go or where I belong. With my head just above the water’s surface, I’am hoping that I will get somewhere, anywhere. I’m scared; scared of the fact that I’am not afraid of drowning, scared of the fact that I can look at the orange, afternoon sky and feel nothing. Am I still human or am I now a denizen of the deep, blue sea? Of the deep black void?

I am afraid of the future to come. I’am afraid of what I will become.

“Even if the morrow is barren of promises, nothing shall forestall my return. To be the dew that quenches the land, to spare the sands, the seas and the skies, I offer thee this silent sacrifice” – LOVELESS, FInal Act

Photo Courtesy Of: Pauline Alvarez @_paulinealvarez

Leave a Reply

